The Yorkshire South Premier League will restart competitive fixtures on Saturday 18 July. 
We have organised a zoned League Cup competition, based on Royal London Cup rules, with 40 overs per side. In order that players can be responsible for their own kits, however, white kit will be worn, and we will play with a red ball. 
Games will start at 12 noon, unless otherwise agreed between the clubs concerned in a particular fixture. The clubs will be split into two zones, East and West, and each club will play home and away fixtures within their group, making ten fixtures in all. Points will be awarded on the basis of four for a win; two for a tie or no result; and none for a loss. In the event of interruptions due to weather and light, the DLS system will be used to achieve a result, provided that each side has the opportinuty to bat for a minimum of 10 overs. The two top clubs will then play off in a final on Saturday 19 September. The fixtures can be found here
Our clubs will follow all guidance published by the ECB in the Return to Cricket Plan for Step Four document. Player registration rules will be relaxed to allow for a temporary registration of a player for this season only, to allow a player to play for a club nearer to home, or for a player to play for one of our clubs if his club has not returned to cricket. 
We have been working closely with the Yorkshire Premier League Umpires Association, and, whilst it will undoubtedly be a rather strange environment at first, we are confident what with patience and understanding all round, we will be able to play a full part in the return of recreational cricket in the UK. 
We will, as usual, publish weekly newsletters with previews and statistical summaries throughout the season. All fixtures and results will be published on our Play-Cricket site and the live score service will be available on play-cricket live scores app. 
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings