Jack Bland Trophy 
The weather played havoc with yesterday’s programme, with two games abandoned without a ball bowled, and only one game reaching a finish. Doncaster remain eight points clear at the top of the Eastern Group, whilst Western Group leaders Sheffield Collegiate maintain their four-point lead over Whitley Hall, who have a game in hand. 
Eastern Group 
At Alderson Drive, visitors Appleby Frodingham restricted Tickhill to 118-8 in their 40 overs, with Paul Hilton, Kieran Lindley and Kieran Watson taking two wickets each, and only opener Mark Cummins offering significant resistance. Visiting skipper Matt Fowler steered his side home with an unbeaten 66 off 63 balls. 
Tickhill 118-8 (40 overs) Mark Cummins 34 
Appleby Frodingham 122-2 (27) Matt Fowler 66* 
Appleby Frodingham (4pts) beat Tickhill by eight wickets 
At the Al-Murad Stadium, Elsecar had reached 106-6 in the 28th over against Wickersley when rain intervened and no further play was possible. 
Elsecar and Wickersley Old Village match abandoned (2pts each) 
The game between Treeton and Doncaster Town was abandoned without a ball bowled (2pts each) 
Western group 
At Shaw Lane, visitors Sheffield Collegiate restricted the home side to 84-8 in their 40 overs before the rain forced an abandonment without Collegiate starting their reply. Skipper Josh Varley returned 3-13 in his eight overs; Tom Eldred 2-7 in his eight, and Isaac Parkin 2-15 in seven. Skipper Dan Waldron top-scored for Barnsley with a patient unbeaten 23 in 61 balls. 
Barnsley and Sheffield Collegiate match abandoned (2pts each) 
At Baxter Field, Wakefield Thornes bowled Whitley Hall out for 91 in 34 overs but rain prevented any reply. Matty Taylor (3-21) and Danny Moorhouse (3-24) led the way for the visitors. 
Whitley Hall and Wakefield Thornes match abandoned (2pts each) 
The game between Cawthorne and Hallam was abandoned without a ball bowled (2pts each) 
Monday 31 August 
Eastern group 
Appleby Frodingham v Doncaster Town (Gordon Prescott & Carl Williams) 
Elsecar v Treeton (Michael Clarke & Adam Seymour) 
Wickersley Old Village v Tickhill (Duncan Jones & Alan Mynett) 
Western group 
Sheffield Collegiate v Hallam (Neil Vaughan & Simon Widdup) 
Wakefield Thornes v Barnsley Woolley Miners (Jonathan Crabtree & Ian Dixon) 11am start 
Whitley Hall v Cawthorne (Ray Knowles & Mick Mann) 
Share this post:

Leave a comment: 

Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings