Jack Bland Trophy 
The League committee decided this week that that the trophy that will be presented to the winners of our 2020 League Cup competition will be called the Jack Bland Trophy, in memory of the well-known and highly respected South Yorkshire junior cricket coach and administrator who died earlier this year. 
The final is to be held at Wakefield Thornes CC on Saturday 19 September (reserve date 20 September). 
Yesterday's results 
Eastern Group 
Doncaster elected to bat first at home to Treeton, and got off to a brisk start with Bilal Anjam leading the way to a very competitive score of 195 for 6. Vinnie Ogden returned the best bowling figures for the visitors with his four wicket haul. The visitors made a solid start to their reply but soon fell behind the clock, and although skipper Sam Drury applied acceleration with 51 off 52 balls, they fell 21 runs short of their target. James Stuart completed a fine match with five wickets to add to his 41 runs. 
Doncaster T 195-6 (40) James Stuart 41, Bilal Anjam 70, Charlie Kaye 43, Vinnie Ogden 4-37 
Treeton 174-8 (40) Chris Cobb 27, Liam Johnson 42, Sam Drury 51, James Stuart 5-36 
Doncaster Town (4pts) beat Treeton by 21 runs 
At Northfield Lane, Elsecar racked up the highest total of the competition so far. Asked to bat first by the home side, they got off to a fine start through Hasnat Yousaf (72 off 60 balls) and Sam Shaw, who put on 125 for the first wicket. Skipper Peter Hadfield and and Tanzeel Ali applied the acceleration later in the innings, and the visitors closed on a daunting 276-5. Wickersley lost early wickets, and from 51-4 it was always an uphill task, but Isaac Spencer-Jones and skipper Gareth Purshouse provided resistance with a brisk fifth wicket stand of 97. 
Elsecar 276-5 (40) Sam Shaw 54, Hasnat Yousaf 72, Peter Hadfield 33, Tanzeel Ali 42* 
Wickersley OV 163 (28.5) Isaac Spencer-Jones 57, Gareth Purhouse 41, Rieko Parker-Cole 4-36, Oliver Blackburn 3-8 
Elsecar (4pts) beat Wickersley Old Village by 113 runs 
Appleby Frodingham gained their first win in the competition with a comfortable victory over Tickhill at Brumby Hall. The visitors batted first and despite losing the early wicket of Mark Cummins, Mathew Lowe and Christopher Wood batted steadily in putting on 53 for the second wicket. But the introduction into the attack of Kieran Watson changed the game as the experienced all-rounder took 5-21, the best figures in the competition so far, and the visitors were bowled out for 114. After Matt Morland and Alex Grimes had put on 52 for the first wicket, the Lincolnshire men progressed comfortably towards their target. 
Tickhill 114 (39.5 overs) Christopher Wood 30, Kieran Watson 5-21, Matthew Harris 3-27 
Appleby Frodingham 115-3 (33.4) Alex Grimes 35, Kieran Lindley 28* 
Appleby Frodingham (4pts) beat Tickhill by seven wickets 
Western group 
Sheffield Collegiate made it two wins from two games with a comprehensive win over Barnsley at Abbeydale. A fine opening spell by Henry Eldred soon had the visitors on the back foot, and an excellent three-wicket spell by 16-year old Isaac Parkin ensured that there would be no way back. Collegiate lost only two wickets in completing their win in the 17th over. 
Barnsley WM 73 (30) Henry Eldred 3-13, Isaac Parkin 3-12 
Sheffield Collegiate 74-2 (16.5) 
Sheffield Collegiate (4pts) beat Barnsley Woolley Miners by eight wickets 
Hallam gained their first win of the season when they hosted Cawthorne for the first time. On winning the toss, they asked the visitors to bat, and Ben Simpson and Michael Jepps put on 60 for the first wicket. After that, Hallam’s bowlers took control, with Nick Cooper leading the way, and Cawthorne were restricted to 145-7. Hallam lost three wickets for 41, but Andre Bradford and Harry Bliss then added 105 in an unbroken fourth-wicket stand to ease their side home. 
Cawthorne 145 (40) Ben Simpson 29, Michael Jepps 28, Nick Cooper 3-24 
Hallam 146-3 (37.2) Andre Bradford 63*, Harry Bliss 44* 
Hallam (4pts) beat Cawthorne by seven wickets 
The game between Wakefield Thornes and Whitley Hall was postponed, and is to be played later in the season. 
Fixtures for next Saturday: 
Eastern group 
Elsecar v Appleby Frodingham (umpires: Michael Clarke & Jonathan Crabtree) 
Tickhill v Doncaster Town (Nick Oddy & Neil Vaughan) 
Wickersley Old Village v Treeton (Simon Widdup & Carl Williams) 
Western group  
Barnsley Woolley Miners v Hallam (Ray Knowles & Jason Pitcher) 
Wakefield Thornes v Cawthorne (Philip Hulme & Adam Seymour) 
Whitley Hall v Sheffield Collegiate (Duncan Jones & Mick Mann) 
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings