The weather interfered badly with the first weekend of our League Cup season, and our thanks go to all concerned, particularly the scorers and umpires, who did a magnificent job in ensuring that we obtained results in all six games. 
Eastern Group 
Champions Doncaster Town got their season off to a winning start in a game reduced to 32 overs per side, visitors Wickersley falling 17 short of a target further reduced due to rain. Bilal Anjam and Charlie Kay added 57 in a crucial third wicket partnership for the home side, whilst Nathan Taylor, with an unbeaten 45 and four wickets, did not deserve to be on the losing side. Taylor added 73 for the second wicket in Wickersley’s innings with Isaac Spencer-Jones. 
Doncaster Town 150-9 (32 overs) Bilal Anjam 42, Charlie Kaye 44, Nathan Taylor 4-24 
Wickersley O.V. 120-3 (25) Nathan Taylor 45*, Isaac Spencer-Jones 43 
Doncaster Town (4pts) beat Wickersley Old Village by 17 runs (DLS: revised target 138 from 25 overs) 
At Tickhill, visitors Elsecar posted a challenging 178 in a 36-over a side game, thanks mainly to an 85-run fourth-wicket stand between new skipper Peter Hadfield and Tanzeel Ali. Tickhill were going well in response, Mark Cummins and Ross Diver putting on an 89-run opening stand, before a couple of wickets fell and rain forced the players off with Tickhill just six runs short of the DLS par score. 
Elsecar 178-6 (36) Peter Hadfield 45, Tanzeel Ali 81 
Tickhill 96-2 (17.3) Mark Cummins 33*, Ross Diver 51 
Elsecar (4pts) beat Tickhill by six runs (DLS par score in 17.3 overs: 102) 
There was no happy return for Appleby Frodingham on their first game back in the YSPL, as they lost by 31 runs at Treeton. Evergreen all-rounder Steve Foster led the way for the home side with 59, whilst the rest of the batsmen found it hard going. Another seasoned campaigner, Paul Hilton, was the visitors’ best bowler with four economical wickets. Frodingham’s target was slightly adjusted due to rain, but they were soon in trouble at 12-4, with Foster claiming three early scalps. Kieran Lindley provided stern resistance, but a four-wicket haul from Ben Birtles gave Treeton a comfortable win. 
Treeton 140 (35.3) Steve Foster 59, Paul Hilton 4-17 
Appleby Frodingham 108 (27) Kieran Lindley 42, Steve Foster 3-7, Ben Birtles 4-23 
Treeton (4pts) beat Appleby Frodingham by 31 runs (DLS target 140 from 29 overs) 
Western Group 
A delayed start in the game at Shaw Lane reduced it to 20 overs per side, and visitors Whitley Hall posted a formidable target of 160. An opening stand of 77 between James Moorhouse and Matt Cartwright was the backbone of the visitors’ innings. Further rain caused the home side’s target to be reduced to a challenging 111 in 12 overs, and they fell 26 short at 85-4. 
Whitley Hall 160-7 (20) James Moorhouse 42, Matt Cartwright 32 
Barnsley WM 85-4 (12) 
Whitley Hall (4pts) beat Barnsley Woolley Miners by 25 runs (DLS target 111 from 12 overs) 
Cawthorne’s first game in the YSPL was the only game of the day not to be reduced from the start. The home side’s innings of 159-9 was based on a stand of 87 between the experienced Alex Morris and skipper Liam Wiles, whilst Robert Shaw and debutant Sam Kellett shared seven wickets. Rain reduced Collegiate’s target to 122 in 24 overs, and although they did not have things all their own way, Shaaiq Choudhry’s unbeaten 43 saw the visitors home with two overs and five wickets to spare. 
Cawthorne 159-9 (40) Alex Morris 51, Liam Wiles 55, Robert Shaw 4-12, Sam Kellett 3-20 
Sheffield Collegiate 125-5 (22) Shaaiq Choudhry 43* 
Sheffield Collegiate (4pts) beat Cawthorne by five wickets (DLS target 122 in 24 overs) 
In a game reduced to 35 overs per side at Crimicar, Wakefield Thornes had a comfortable DLS win to kick off their campaign. In an innings in which all but one batsman reached double figures, but no-one really kicked on, Romir Singh top-scored for the home side as they posted a respectable target. Matt Taylor had an impressive seven-over spell of 3-13 for Thornes. Chasing a DLS revised target of 161 in 31 overs, Thornes were well ahead of the par score when the rain returned to end the proceedings, new skipper James Wolfenden and Joe Cook sharing an unbroken opening stand of 139. 
Hallam 172-8 (35) Ramir Singh 31, Matt Taylor 3-13 
Wakefield Thornes 139-0 (24.1) James Wolfenden 72*, Joe Cook 61* 
Wakefield Thornes (4pts) beat Hallam by 28 runs (DLS par score at 24.1 overs: 111) 
Next Saturday’s fixtures 
Eastern group 
Appleby Frodingham v Tickhill (umpires: Ray Knowles & Harry Fidler) 
Doncaster Town v Treeton (Greg Willcocks & Mick Mann) 
Wickersley Old Village v Elsecar (Duncan Jones & Philip Hulme) 
Western group 
Hallam v Cawthorne (Neil Vaughan & Michael Clarke) 
Sheffield Collegiate v Barnsley Woolley Miners (Jonathan Crabtree & Simon Widdup) 
Wakefield Thornes v Whitley Hall (Ian Dixon & Alan Mynett) 
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings