Congratulations Doncaster Town CC - Yorkshire South Premier League Champions 2019. 
Doncaster Town's six-wicket in over Wickersley Old Village means that whatever happens in the last week of the season, the Town Fields club will be crowned League champions. 
Five wickets for Aamir Jamal and four for Curtis Free helped them bowl out Wickersley for 169 in 39.2 overs, despite half-centuries for Nathan Taylor and Luke Shutt. Doncaster lost both openers with only 12 runs on the board, before Graeme Attenborough helped Bilal Anjam to put on 56 for the third wicket. After the loss of skipper James Ward at 81, Joe Gallagher joined Bilal in an unbroken partnership of 90 that saw their side to victory in 38 overs. Bilal Anjam finished unbeaten on 64. 
It was a well deserved success for Doncaster, who have consistently been the best side in the League this season. 
At the other end of the table, it was a sad day for Aston Hall, whose seven-wicket defeat to Hallam confirmed their relegation to the South Yorkshire Championship. We wish all at Green Lane the very best of luck in their quest to make an immediate return to our ranks in 2021. 
The final relegation place will be decided next weeek, with Cleethorpes, Hallam and Wickersley Old Village all still fighting to avoid finishing in eleventh place.  
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings