James Ward receives the League Championship trophy from Robert Croft 
Hall of Fame inductees Harry Fidler, Bill Croft (for Matt Dixon) and Kevin Motley 
The fourth YSPL Annual Presentation Dinner took place at Shaw Lane Sports Club, Barnsley, last Friday, 8 November. 
Our highly-entertaining guest speaker on the night was former Glamorgan and England all-rounder Robert Croft. The other guests included Yorkshire Premier Leagues Management Board chairman Alan Birkinshaw, and League life members Bill Croft and Ray Knowles. 
On the evening, Wickersley Old Village CC were named Club of the Year, based on a ranking of clubs in thirteen categories of their performance during the season; Hallam received the umpires Fair Play trophy; and Martin Deans of Cleethorpes was named Groundsman of the Year. Josh Varley of Sheffield Collegiate received the Chairman’s award for his very successful first season as Sheffield Collegiate captain, in addition to his outstanding work with the club’s junior section. Former Collegiate captain and YSPL vice-chairman Matt Dixon, popular long-serving umpire Harry Fidler, and scorer extraordinaire Kevin Motley were inducted to the League’s Hall of Fame. Unfortunately, Matt was away on holiday, so his certificate was collected on his behalf by fellow Hall of Fame member, Bill Croft. 
The full list of the awards, presented on the night, was: 
League champions – Doncaster Town CC 
League t20 champions – Sheffield Collegiate CC 
League under 19s t20 champions – Elsecar CC 
Viking Cricket Knock-Out Cup winners – Wakefield Thornes CC 
Batsman of the Year – Harpreet Singh Bhatia (Barnsley Woolley Miners CC) 
Bowler of the Year – Oliver Jackson (Barnsley Woolley Miners CC) 
All-rounder of the Year – Muhammad Saeed Answer (Elsecar CC) 
Junior Batsman of the Year – Andre Bradford (Hallam CC) 
Junior Bowler of the Year – Andre Bradford (Hallam CC) 
Wicket-keeper of the Year – Beck Frostick (Barnsley Woolley Miners CC) 
Fielder of the Year – James Ward (Doncaster Town CC) 
Club of the Year – Wickersley Old Village CC 
Fair Play Trophy – Hallam CC 
Groundsman of the Year – Martin Deans (Cleethorpes CC) 
Umpire of the Year – Simon Widdup 
Chairman’s trophy – Josh Varley (Sheffield Collegiate CC) 
Hall of Fame inductees – Matt Dixon (Sheffield Collegiate CC), Harry Fidler (Yorkshire Leagues Umpires Association) and Kevin Motley (Barnsley Woolley Miners CC) 
Jeff Wilson of Viking Cricket was, unfortunately, unable to be present to present the Viking Cricket cup trophy, but he very generously contributed a £50 kit voucher prize. 
The event was expertly compered by Alex Fletcher of Whitley Hall CC, and our grateful thanks go to Alex and Steve Ward for all their hard work in organising the event. 
Our thanks too go to Brian Whitehead, whose photos of the event can be found on our Flickr pages at 2019 Presentation dinner
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings